Derbyshire Trophy: 2019 final preview

The 1996 team : (from left to right): R. Malton, Jeff Newson, Eric Kew, Peter Jessop, Roger Strong, Tony Morton, T. Cairney, Dan Duffy, Fred Addy, D. Smith, Malcolm Squires, Peter Edwards, Cliff Watson, A. Norfolk (National President), Wilf Redhead, Andrew Thurston, Peter Black, John Dickenson (Deputy National President), Bob Crow, Albert Horton. (Picture courtesy of Malcolm Squires).

The 2006 team (back row, left to right): Andrew Thurston, Ean Morton (partly hidden), Doug Want, Dick Noble, Mick Durber, Simon Law & Trevor Collins (both hidden), Graham Agger, Roger Martin (partly hidden), Peter Edwards, John Stoneham. Front (from the left) Nigel Eagle, Norman Buttery, Tony Morton, Fred Addy, Richard Montgomery (Northants President), Chris Wheeler, Tristan Morton (Picture courtesy of Roger Martin).

The 2019 squad: (from the left): Tony Scarr, Nick Wilkie, Martyn Dolby, Adam Warrington, Simon Law, Tris Morton, Paul Dalliday, James Harford, Jeff Newson, Mick Humphreys,Roger Martin, Stephen Harris, 2017/18 President Tony Mace.

FOR THE first time in 13 years, Northants Bowling Federation will contest the final of the Derbyshire Trophy at Newark IBC on Sunday (April 28, 1pm). It’s the prestigious inter-county title of the English Bowling Federation.

Northants bowlers last won the trophy in 2006 at Newark against Durham, having first won it in 1996 at Lincoln IBC against Northumberland.

This time, under the captaincy of James Harford, and celebrating the county’s 90th anniversary since its formation in 1929, Northants A will play Nottinghamshire who qualified through the northern section of the competition by defeating Durham, Humberside and Northumberland.

For the Northants team it was a more gruelling road to the final, defeating Northants B, Lincolnshire, North Cambs and Norfolk, suffering their only defeat, away to Huntingdonshire.

Only Jeff Newson remains from the team which won in 1996 and only four survive from 2006 – Roger Martin, Trevor Collins, Simon Law and Tristan Morton.

Of the 1996 team, Malcolm Squires recalls: “I wore three hats that day – as county president, team captain and as a player. It was a privilege to be the first Northants team to win the Derbyshire Trophy.”

Roger Martin remembers that in the qualifying rounds in 2006, the competition demanded three rinks of triples playing at home and away simultaneously with the aggregate score counting for extra points.

Subsequently the competition is now played as four rinks of two-bowl triples played home or away in alternate years.

” I think the rink I played on in the final was the only one out of six to lose but the rest did more than enough to bring the trophy home for our president Richard Montgomery, who was also in the team.”

This time Martin is paired with fellow Blackstones bowlers Mick Humphreys and Adam Warrington.

The rest of the 2019 team is: Paul Dalliday, James Harford & Simon Law (all Parkway); Bob Warters (Ketton), Martyn Dolby (Blackstones) & Tristan Morton (Parkway); Nick Wilkie (Vanguard), Trevor Collins & Jeff Newson (both Parkway). Apart from Wilkie (Spalding) the rest of the team play their indoor bowls at Stamford IBC. BW